To dedicate or not dedicate, that is the question

Guest MadZooted

Guest MadZooted

Good afternoon fellow soldiers, I am new to the clan and this is my first post other than my application. I have been lurking around the forums and checking out fellow members profiles and noticed we have a ton of computer gurus. Today I want to ask the question about dedicating my second video card to physics. My current build setup is as follows;

ASUS Rampage IV Forumula

Corsair H100

Geforce Gtx 660 2gb

Geforce Gtx 660 2gb

Kingston 120gb SSD

Western Digital 1TB

G Skill Sniper 16gb (4x4Gb)

Intel Core i7-3820 3.6GHz (LGA 2011)

Rosewill 1000w PSU 80+ gold

Thor V2 Case

Razer Abyssus (Want to replace)

System overclocked using Rog extreme gamers oc profile

So I have the two cards linked via an sli connector. I was originally just running both cards, but a friend of mine recommended that I dedicate one card to Physics. I mostly use the computer for gaming and was wondering what advice any of you could offer me. Thank you

p.s. if any of you could also throw some good gaming mouse recommendations I would gladly appreciate it

Guest MAJ.Spartan-S63=US=
I wouldn't use a card to dedicate it just to physics calculations. The reason why is that the graphics card will only be used in PhysX calculations and PhysX is actually used in very few games. This will drop your in-game performance by between 70-90% (a rough estimate) because you won't be able to take advantage of SLI scaling anymore. Keep the two cards in SLI, you'll get better performance.

Guest RhinoTech

As for the mouse recommendation RT, I am the owner of a Razer Naga (2010 version) for over 4 years. I just recently replaced it due to tracking issues. If that never happened I probably wouldn't have switched to a different mouse because no mouse that I am currently aware of contains 21 configurable buttons other than the Naga.